Budget Policy Whats-app

Comprehensive Guide on Types of Australian Visas

Australia is well-known for its rich culture, quality education, employment opportunities, and more which makes it one of the most desired destinations worldwide. There are many visa options for people worldwide that help them migrate from their home nation.


Studying, working, and living in Australia is not as complicated as it seems; you can migrate under any visa type depending on your profile and eligibility. However, many of us miss opportunities of migrating because lack of knowledge of the Australian Immigration Department and visa types.


Australian Visa Types


There is a total of 121 Australian visa categories that people around the world use to migrate through, which is divided into 7 visa types.


Visitor Visas

Under visitor visas, there are a total of 6 visa categories (Electronic Travel Authority, eVisitor, Transit visa, Visitor and more). To learn about each visa category, visit The Department of Home Affairs.


These countries’ people (Austria, Andorra, Brunei, Canada, Belgium, Denmark, France, Finland, Hong Kong (SAR of China), Greece, Germany, Japan, Iceland, Italy, Ireland, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Monaco, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Republic of San Marino, South Korea, Singapore, Sweden, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Taiwan (excluding official or diplomatic passports) and Vatican City) can apply for the Electronic Travel Authority visa (subclass 601) other than these countries passport holders are not eligible for this category.

Passport holders or citizens of these countries: Austria, Andorra, Bulgaria, Belgium, Cyprus, Croatia, France, Czech Republic, Finland, Estonia, Denmark, Greece, Germany, Iceland, Hungary, Italy, Ireland, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Monaco, Portugal, Poland, Republic of San Marino, Romania, Spain, Slovenia, Slovak Republic, Switzerland, Sweden, United Kingdom, and Vatican City are eligible to apply for eVisitor visa.


Studying and Training Visas

There are 3 visa categories: Student visa (subclass 500), Training visa (subclass 407) and Student Guardian visa (subclass 590).


Family and Partner Visas

This visa type contains 23 categories listed in The Department of Home Affairs.


Working and Skilled Visas

It has a total of 22 categories, and you can learn about each category by visiting The Department of Home Affairs.


Refugee and Humanitarian Visas

You may migrate under this visa type; it has a total of 6 visa categories: Global Special Humanitarian, Protection visa, Temporary Protection visa and Resolution of Status visa, and more.


Other Visas

In this visa type, there are a total of 13 categories (Bridging visa A – BVA, Crew Travel Authority visa, Maritime Crew visa, Medical Treatment visa, Special Category visa, Special Purpose visa, and more).


Repealed Visas

This visa type has a total of 48 visa categories (Business (Short Stay) visa, Business Skills (Provisional) visa, Distinguished Talent visa, Domestic Worker (Temporary) Executive visa, Electronic Travel Authority (Visitor) visa, Established Business in Australia visa and more).


You can understand how to migrate through these visa types and which suits your profile better. Apart from visa types, you must know what OVHC and OSHC policy is and why they are essential.


What are OSHC and OVHC policies?


The Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) policy is for Australian student visa holders; it covers their hospital and medical expenses in case of getting injured, illness, etc., during their stay in Australia.


The Overseas Visitor Health Cover (OVHC) policy is for work, visit, travel, business, or any visa holder other than a student visa; it will also cover their medical and hospital expenses in case of a mishap, injured, accident, illness, etc. while staying in Australia.


Note: Apply for or hold the Temporary Graduate visas (subclass 485) must purchase an OVHC policy. You can learn more about visa485 insurance before applying for it.


The Australian Government declared that every foreigner visiting Australia for any purpose must obtain OSHC and OVHC policies before processing their visa applications. If someone does not buy the policy, they will become ineligible to apply for any Australian visa.


To know more about OSHC and OVHC policies, you may contact us (Budget Policy); our experts will be able to assist you and provide all the relevant information related to health coverage.


Help to Choose Start Date ()

Start Date
  • For offshore students, policy start date must be at least 8 DAYS PRIOR TO THE COURSE START DATE.
  • If you are switching from another OSHC provider, choose the start date as very next day of previous OSHC expiry date. In order to keep your visa valid, you must be covered for OSHC continuously without any gap.

Help to Choose End Date ()

End Date
  • Insurance policy end date must be at least 2 MONTHS after the COE END DATE.
  • If the course is ending in November or December, choose OSHC end date as 15TH MARCH OF the next year.